Posted by: Anne | May 19, 2008

lessons learned

I’ve learned that . . .

. . . I can’t do everything, but I can do something.
. . . if I’m not going to work to solve a problem, I should not indulge in complaining about it.
. . . I truly am my own worst critic.
. . . it’s *not* all about me.
. . . other people have problems, too.
. . . you can’t change what’s already happened. You can only change how you think about it.
. . . letting go of hard feelings usually starts with making the choice to do so.
. . . very often, low self-esteem exhibits itself as a critical attitude towards others.
. . . it’s easy to expect the worst. Dare to hope for the best!
. . . someone who has been loved little, loves little.
. . . the best classroom in the world is at the feet of an elderly person.
. . . when you’re in love, it shows.
. . . just one person saying to me, “You’ve made my day!” makes my day.
. . . having a child fall asleep in your arms is one of the most peaceful feelings in the world.
. . . being kind is more important than being right.
. . . you should never say “no” to a gift from a child.
. . . I can always pray for someone when I don’t have the strength to help him in some other way.
. . . no matter how serious your life requires you to be, everyone needs a friend to act goofy with.
. . . sometimes all a person needs is a hand to hold and a heart to understand.
. . . simple walks with my grandfather around the block on summer nights when I was a child did wonders for me as an adult.
. . . life is like a roll of toilet paper. The closer it gets to the end, the faster it goes.
. . . we should be glad God doesn’t give us everything we ask for.
. . . money doesn’t buy class.
. . . it’s those small daily happenings that make life so spectacular.
. . . under everyone’s hard shell is someone who wants to be appreciated and loved.
. . . the Lord didn’t do it all in one day. What makes me think I can?
. . . to ignore the facts does not change the facts.
. . . when you plan to get even with someone, you are only letting that person continue to hurt you.
. . . love, not time, heals all wounds.
. . . the easiest way for me to grow as a person is to surround myself with people smarter than I am.
. . . everyone you meet deserves to be greeted with a smile.
. . . there’s nothing sweeter than sleeping with your babies and feeling their breath on your cheeks.
. . . no one is perfect until you fall in love with them.
. . . life is tough, but I’m tougher.
. . . opportunities are never lost; someone will take the ones you miss.
. . . when you harbor bitterness, happiness will dock elsewhere.
. . . I wish I could have told my Grandpa that I love him one more time before he passed away.
. . . one should keep his words both soft and tender, because tomorrow he may have to eat them.
. . . a smile is an inexpensive way to improve your looks.
. . . I can’t choose how I feel, but I can choose what I do about it.
. . . when your newly born child holds your little finger in his little fist, you’re hooked for life.
. . . everyone wants to live on top of the mountain, but all the happiness and growth occurs while you’re climbing it.
. . . it is best to give advice in only two circumstances; when it is requested and when it is a life threatening situation.
. . . the less time I have to work with, the more things I get done.

Leave a Reply

Categories

