Posted by: Anne | December 22, 2008

to give or not to give

This year, someone I know has been affected by the economy: she works in retail, and her hours have been cut due to a decrease in business levels. So, I decided that I’d help her by paying one of her expenses for Christmas.

No sooner had I decided that than we had a disagreement, and I thought huffily, “Well, there is NO WAY I’m helping her out. She won’t even appreciate it!”

But I wasn’t able to indulge in my pettiness for long before I realized that this person really could use some help, and isn’t that part of what Christmas is about? Helping people because they need it? I mean, God sent his son Jesus for us, and if He’d waited until we deserved it … well, He’d still be waiting!

Thinking of things in that light, I knew that I had to continue with my plan to help my friend, and to my surprise, I didn’t feel the slight bit resentful about it.

Isn’t it amazing what a little bit of perspective can do?

Merry Christmas, everyone! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

