Posted by: Anne | February 24, 2009

happiness is

A boy once said to God, “I’ve been thinking, and I know what I want when I become a man.” He proceeded to give God his list: to live in a big house with two Saint Bernards and a garden … marry a beautiful, tall, blue-eyed woman … have three sons — one who will be a senator, one a scientist, and one a quarterback. He also wanted to be an adventurer who climbed tall mountains… and to drive a red Ferrari.

As it turned out, the boy hurt his knee one day while playing football. He could no longer climb trees, much less mountains. He married a beautiful and kind woman, who was short with brown eyes. Because of his business, he lived in a city apartment, took cabs, and rode subways. He had three loving daughters, and they adopted a fluffy cat. One daughter became a nurse, another an artist, and the third a music teacher.

One morning the man awoke and remembered his boyhood dream. He became extremely depressed, so depressed that he became very ill. With a broken heart, he called out to God, “Remember when I was a boy and told You all the things I wanted? Why didn’t You give me those things?”

“I could have,” said God, “but I wanted to make you happy.”

(This story – found in a book – is a condensed version of this story.)

Leave a Reply

Categories

