Posted by: Anne | November 14, 2009

Things I’m Thankful For

‘Tis the season to be thankful.

100 Things I’m Thankful For

1. My husband, Steve (aka BuffaloKid): Steve is my best friend. He’s my #1 fan. From him, I get unconditional love and acceptance, and he always makes me feel like I’m special and liked. I’m the luckiest girl in the world for having found my mustached man.

2. My parents: I’m thankful to be the daughter of two very loving, supportive people. My father is gone now but never forgotten and always loved. I know how much he adored me and how much my mom does, too. My parents enabled me to do and experience many things, regardless of how much they sometimes worried. They gave me everything they possibly could … and even some things they probably couldn’t.

3. My friends: If I named them all individually, from wonderful acquaintances to tried and true friends, I’d have the rest of my list of 100 right there. I don’t have a large number of close friends, but I do know there are a lot of good people, near and far, who I can count on, who care about me, and who want only the best for me. I truly value my friends and will never have “enough” or too many.

4. My beloved dog, Miss Sassafrass Tea (Sassy, for short): Always there to greet me and even hug me when I come through the door, Sassy gives me so much love. I know she won’t be with us forever, but I cherish the time we’ve spent together and the time we still have. There’s nothing like the unconditional love of a dog.

5. Fulfilling my dream of hiking the Appalachian Trail: In 2000, I hiked for 178 days from Georgia to Maine, thanks in large part to the support of my #1 man, Steve. I had the time of my life and will cherish the memories forever.

6. Going to college: I was able to leave high school a year early and go to Simon’s Rock College, then to the University of New Hampshire for the next three years. Thankfully, I was able to graduate without any student debt. I’ve said at times that, if I had it to do over again, I might not go to college (I’d take NOLS courses andwriting workshops instead), but, on the other hand, I’m still thankful I was able to go and that I learned a lot while there, and not all of it in the classroom.

7. Traveling to foreign countries: Thanks to my parents, I was able to visit France and Switzerland during high school, accompany them on a number of cruises to the Caribbean, Alaska, Europe and through the Panama Canal, and spend a summer in Israel.

14. Meeting my favorite singer: Not to mention becoming friends with someone in his band. Steve and I have been invited to attend his concerts (free!) any time we want. And we love seeing our friend up on stage and after the shows. What a special treat! We’re always looking forward to the next time.

25. Being able to work for myself: Thanks to Steve’s secure job and the way we’ve set things up, in part by being frugal, I was able to leave a job that not only didn’t make me happy but often made me very unhappy. Now, I can pursue things of my own choosing and have much more time to enjoy what I love doing.

26. Good health: Knock on wood. This should probably be way at the top of the list, but I’m really not writing this in any particular order. So far, though, at age 40, I’ve never had any major–or really any–health issues. One can never know for sure what will happen in that regard, but I’m thankful that I’ve been blessed with good health.

Check out the full list at the source: http://www.squidoo.com/100-things-thankful

P.S. So, what are you thankful for? Feel free to share your thoughts – or the link to your list, if you have one – by responding in the comments.

Leave a Reply

Categories

