Posted by: Anne | October 9, 2010

more than once

I’ve very recently been thinking about that truth “you may have to fight a battle more than once to win it.” I’ve been thinking of it in the context of challenges in a relationship, specifically with some “disconnects” that my significant other and I have.

I recently tried talking to him about a particular “disconnect” between us that had left me with some hurt feelings. This issue is a recurring problem, and I can grow frustrated when I think about previous failed attempts to discuss it. I’m tempted to think, “Oh, just forget it!” and withdraw; meanwhile the once-small issue soon grows into a wedge. So, this time, instead of letting those hurt feelings fester, I decided I’d simply (and calmly) say my piece about it, and I realized that while it might not change anything, I’d feel better that at least I’m trying to communicate.

And really, it’s actually kind of unrealistic for me to think that I’d say a few sentences, and that he’d understand them perfectly, and respond perfectly. ‘Cause you know, I don’t understand or respond to people perfectly either. I think that’s why the Bible so often repeats itself on important matters: because we’re all works in progress. Maybe when we understand that – in ourselves, and in others, and in our relationships with each other – we can find the patience it takes to stick with it and work on it.

Responses

  1. Hi Anne
    I have been enjoying your posts for about a year and love your insights. This one really spoke to me about a situation in my own life. Thanks.
    I am a retired (on health grounds)missionary who lives in Northern Ireland and as my website shows offer my gifts in graphic design to Churches and charities to help them improve their message.

    God bless and keep posting.

  2. Hello, Brian – and thank you very much for the kind words! It is truly my prayer that God will use what I post here to speak what someone needs to hear.

    And you are a repeat visitor to the site? I’m truly humbled – and again, I thank you.

    Have a great day!


Leave a Reply

Categories

