Posted by: Anne | October 23, 2010

all lies

All Lies

“You belong to your father, the devil, and you want to carry out your father’s desire. He was a murderer from the beginning, not holding to the truth, for there is no truth in him. When he lies, he speaks his native language, for he is a liar and the father of lies.” John 8:44

When I was young, I struggled to tell the truth. It wasn’t something I worked at or tried to perfect. Lying came naturally for me and it was a habit that took a long time to break.

The thing about lying that always got me was that one lie was never enough. Every time I told a lie, I had to tell another to keep up with my own crafted story. I spent a miserable amount of time worrying that I had confused the stories and exposed my deceit.

It wasn’t worth it. Lying started as a single event, but it soon became a lifestyle. It became a definition. I was known as a liar.

I thought that each series of strategically woven stories would end when my tongue stopped wagging. But most of the time, the story had to continue the next day for whatever reason. I didn’t see that coming.

You know, lying is a poison that spreads like a virus through every part of a person. You hope it will remain isolated to one part of the body, but it quickly crawls through the entire system, leaving nothing untouched.

It’s not worth it. In the moment it seems harmless, but by the end of the day, you realize a snowball effect has taken place. And you can’t do anything about it.

Now, I know what you’re thinking. Sean, lying isn’t that bad. Don’t make a bigger deal of it than it is. There are many sins that are much worse. I’m just glad that I am not addicted to something major.

Yeah, that’s what I used to think too until I read John 8:44. It says that Satan is the father of lies. Not just some of them… All of them. When I read that, I realized that every time I lied I was doing exactly what the devil wanted me to do.

Don’t know about you, but that upset me greatly. I want my life to be pleasing to God, not the devil. Because of that, I decided that I had to fight my tendency to bend the truth or spout outright lies. If every deception gets its origin from the devil, I don’t want to ever tolerate them.

I will fight against lies. Will you?

(Source: http://www.groundwire.net/newsletters/AllLies.htm – used with permission.)

Leave a Reply

Categories

