Posted by: Anne | May 21, 2011

in all things

“Cause what if Your blessings come through raindrops?
What if Your healing comes through tears?
What if a thousand sleepless nights
Are what it takes to know You’re near?
What if trials of this life are Your mercies in disguise?”

After I posted the lyrics to Laura Story’s song “Blessings” last week, I realized that some people may think of their own “trials” and angrily respond to the questions in the chorus (above) with, “Well if that’s what it takes, I want no part of it!”

And that’s understandable. I mean, bad times are just that – bad! – and when you’re in the middle of one, the last thing you want to hear is someone who doesn’t understand spouting clichés.

I went through a period where heavy thoughts weighed on my mind all day long for months at a time, and despite others’ reassurance, I didn’t think I would ever find peace… But then I did. It didn’t happen all at once, but one day I realized that I’d come so far from where I’d been. I also realized that that dark time had left me with a heart that truly seeks God – definitely a good thing – and it taught me some things that maybe I couldn’t have learned any other way. So, while I might have preferred to avoid that trial altogether, looking back, I can see that it served a purpose.

Things can get tough. In fact, there’s a very good chance that they will at some point, and I think the point of “Blessings” is to remind us that God is still at work in our lives even in the so-called bad things. And that‘s not some worthless cliché: that’s a Bible promise we can cling to.

And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose. ~ Romans 8:28 (NIV)

Leave a Reply

Categories

