Posted by: Anne | August 13, 2011

two hearts of gratitude

TWO HEARTS OF GRATITUDE

“My Father is always at his work to this very day, and I, too, am working.”
John 5:17

“No matter what happens, always be thankful, for this is God’s will for you who belong to Christ Jesus.”
I Thessalonians 5:18

God is working, and for this I am thankful. Not long ago, I stopped at Office Depot on my way home from work to pick up a couple things. Another customer saw me in the aisle with marker boards and teacher supplies, and she asked if I’m a teacher. I’m not, but we got to talking anyway.

She was looking for some children’s alphabet tracing books for her husband, who is recovering from a stroke. His doctor said he needs to work on re-training his hands how to write. So I helped her look around for something, and I ended up finding what she needed and showed her. She thanked me, with a brief mention of God, so I told her, “God bless you and your husband.” And then we went our separate ways in the store.

It isn’t often that I’m aware of making a difference in someone else’s life, and in such a personal way. All I could think to do after she left for the checkout was to thank the Lord for letting me help her.

Sure, she probably would have been able to find the tracing product on her own eventually, but by my being there, she had a chance to unburden herself a little to a listening ear. And through that, the Lord stirred up gratitude in two hearts instead of just one.

In what ways have you lost sight of God’s working in your life and around you? How would He have you participate more in His work, big or small?

May we see all the ways God is at His work to this very day and may we work alongside Him as He leads. And then, may our thankfulness be lifted up to heaven in words of joyous praise.

[From Brenda McGill as seen in Tuesday’s Bread. By way of Cup O’Cheer compiled by Kimberly B. Quiggle. Available Free by E-mail every other day. To SUBSCRIBE: Send an e-mail with SUBSCRIBE CUP O’CHEER in the subject line to cheer316ATsc.rr.com.]

Leave a Reply

Categories

