Posted by: Anne | March 9, 2013

do you know what love is?

do you know what love is?

The other day as I was preparing to officiate at a wedding for one of our support coaches, I was reminded of a definition for the word “love” that I have used for twenty years…

Although I cannot remember where I originally heard this thought, I have adopted it as my own. To me, “Love is an unconditional commitment to an imperfect person.”

Did you catch that? It is an UNCONDITIONAL COMMITMENT to an IMPERFECT person.

I love this definition, not only because this is how I strive to love my wife and my children, but also because this is a perfect description of how God loves me…and this is how He loves you.

God’s love and commitment to us are without conditions. He doesn’t love us only when we love him and His commitment is not attached to our level of faithfulness. The Bible actually teaches that even when we are “faithless, He will remain faithful” (II Timothy 2:3).

His love is forever. “I have loved you with an everlasting love.” (Jeremiah 31:3). It will never fade and you can never drive Him away…even though you are an imperfect person.

There were times in my life when I thought that because of the sin in my life, I would be disqualified. I assumed when he figured out my will was weak and my passion easily manipulated that He would give up on me…but He didn’t. He never does. His commitment is forever even though He is completely aware of our weaknesses and shortcomings.


(Read more at the source: www.GroundWire.net  Used with permission.)

Leave a Reply

Categories

