Posted by: Anne | October 19, 2013

rise high against the wind

Rise High Against the Wind

I have been thinking a lot recently about what people think about so called “restrictions” or “rules” that everyone has to abide by.

I heard a story once of a little boy flying his kite with his father. As the kite started to soar up high into the air, the young boy noticed that the kite could not go any higher because of the string that was connected to the handle his father was holding. Wanting to just let the kite fly away, he said to his father,

“Dad, cut the string so that the kite will fly away!”

“Son, if you cut the string, the kite will not fly away. It will fall,” replied his father.

“Come on, Dad, just cut the string. I want to see it fly!” came this young boy’s plea.

Reluctantly his father answered, “OK, son, I will cut the string.” And so he did.

To the boy’s surprise, his father was right. The kite fell to the ground and broke. How is that possible? Why didn’t the kite fly away? Well, anyone that knows a little about kites know that the string that seems to be holding the kite back is actually what is keeping it in the air. Without it, the kite falls. The same goes with the wind. As Winston Churchill wisely stated,

“Kites rise highest against the wind, not with it.” Winston Churchill

I know for myself, I have wanted to live with the “wind at my bike” or without the restriction of a line tied to me, seeming to be holding me back. Now I have learned that it is good to go through the trials in life and that “rules” do not hold us back but actually train us so that we can grow to our full potential. That is life, that is how it was planned to be. It “was never meant to be easy or fair”(Boyd K. Packer) So next time you feel that you are going through too much, be grateful. That means you are going to be able to accomplish much. Enjoy the journey. I know that we can have joy as we look towards the future. I know the Lord supports those in their trials. I know He loves us and cares for each one of us. I also know that He is so aware of each one of us. He knows our names and He knows our voices. In the name of Jesus Christ, Amen.

Read the full article at:
eldervangilder.blogspot.com/2012/05/rise-high-against-wind.html

Leave a Reply

Categories

