Posted by: Anne | July 11, 2020

faith workout

“Yet those who wait for the LORD
Will gain new strength;
They will mount up with wings like eagles,
They will run and not get tired,
They will walk and not become weary.”
~ Isaiah 40:31 New American Standard Bible

According to one modern-day proverb, when we pray for patience, although we tend to expect an instantaneous transformation in which our impatience is completely removed, God responds by providing opportunities to put patience into practice.

I’m starting to suspect that it’s a similar process with learning to trust God. The answer to my heart’s desire for a stronger faith may include situations that can give my faith muscles a workout.

Lately, for me, those situations often take the form of a sudden change that initially sparks a rush of anxious thoughts. I have to push past my emotions and refocus, grab onto faith and let go of fear, as I wait expectantly to see the good way God is going to work in this.

And in those small steps, my faith is made a little firmer.

“Suffering provides the gym equipment on which my faith can be exercised.”
~ Joni Eareckson Tada

SEE ALSO
https://rainshine.wordpress.com/2020/03/21/find-new-strength/

HEAR ALSO: “Truth I’m Standing On” by Leanna Crawford
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mQq1zEBk41E


Leave a comment

Categories