Posted by: Anne | September 6, 2020

what David saw

Then David said, “The LORD who rescued me from the paw of the lion and the paw of the bear will rescue me from the hand of this Philistine.” Saul said to David, “Go, and may the LORD be with you.”
~ 1 Samuel 17:37 Christian Standard Bible

As I’m walking through trying times, I have a tendency to become preoccupied with the details of my circumstances.

I must be hoping that such scrutiny will eventually make it all make sense. Instead, from previous ponderings, I should know to expect more anxiety and frustration as overthinking can magnify problems to larger-than-life proportions.

I recently heard a pastor say, “It’s not the specifics of the pain: it’s the purpose of the pain.”(**) David certainly exemplifies that in the verse above. When he recounts his experience, his focal point is what God did — not David’s emotions, David’s efforts, etc.

And since David chose an upward perspective, that pain did serve its purpose. David received a personal view of God that indelibly strengthened his faith. He drew on that example of God’s power and goodness to him when he faced greater challenges later in his life.

A few years ago, my reply to that might’ve been, “Well, sure! It was easy for David!” But now, no, I can’t hide behind that excuse. It’s not easy for anyone. But it is do-able. And, from the glimpses I’ve been seeing, God’s good purpose will be worth it.

(**) Lindsay Lane pastor, 8/23/2020 Facebook live service
https://www.facebook.com/lindsaylanebaptistchurch/


Leave a comment

Categories